When a woman can’t beat the odds, a man must go ahead and do it

Quakes forward Victor Bernardez has been named the winner of the MLS Female Athlete of the Year award after leading the New York Red Bulls to a dramatic 5-2 victory over the Buffalo Bills at Yankee Stadium on Saturday.

Quakes forward Dominic Oduro won the award for the fifth straight season after leading New York to a 4-1 victory over FC Kansas City. 

The accolades are for the most consecutive seasons in league history, a record that will be set by the 2015 Golden Boot winner in 2017. 

“I was so happy to receive this award.

I think the accolades have been for the last three years, and I think this award is for a whole different time.

We are at the start of a new era of women’s soccer and we need to continue to be a leader,” Bernardez said in a statement.”

I want to thank my teammates and coaches, the coaches, and the fans for making this team what it is today.

We will take it from here.” 

“We have a tremendous group of players that are all going to be very, very successful.

We have a group of women who are not only going to make history, but they are going to do so in a very exciting, fun, exciting way.

We want to be there every single day for the rest of our lives. 

Bernardez was joined by former Red Bulls midfielder Alex Muyl and midfielder Abby Wambach. 

Red Bulls’ defender Alex Muldrow won the Golden Boot award with five goals in five games this season. 

Bobby Wood won the Silver Boot award, after helping the Red Bulls earn a second straight MLS Cup title. 

New York City FC’s Andrea Pirlo, goalkeeper Stephanie Labbe, forward Megan Rapinoe, defender Megan Rapini, and defender Lacey Marlin were also named the MLS Women’s Athlete-of-the-Year. 

Wambach and her wife, the former Wambaches, also received the award. 

Alyssa Naeher won the MLS Defender of the Month award, and Abby Womack received the MLS Goalkeeper of the Week award.

New York is in the midst of a three-game unbeaten streak, with the Red Bulls winning four straight to open the season, while the Red Devils have also won three straight games to open this season, including a 2-1 win over FC Dallas on Saturday night. 

Last year, the Redbulls earned the league’s most impressive regular season finish, winning the MLS Cup in 2015, and now the league is celebrating its 100th year of competition. 

In 2015, the league had 10 teams that won the league title, two of which went on to win the championship.